Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews receives the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsey award

Tampa, Florida – star of Toronto Maple Leafs Auston Matthews He was awarded the Hart Trophy because the NHL Participant of the Yr and the Ted Lindsay Award because the NHLPA Participant of the Yr on the NHL Awards Tuesday evening.

Matthews, 24, scored 60 objectives and captained the Nationwide Hockey League for the second straight season. He set a document for the Maple Leafs franchise and scored in a single season for probably the most objectives by an American-born participant. He led the NHL in equal energy objectives (44), objectives per sport (0.82) and pictures (348). He tied for sixth in factors with a rating of 106 – the best whole of his profession.

Matthews acquired 119 first-place votes for the Hart Award, which was voted on by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation (PHWA). Conor MacDavid The Edmonton Oilers completed second within the voting whereas the New York Rangers goalkeeper was Igor Shesterkin was the third.

Matthews was the primary Maple Leafs participant to win the NHLPA Participant of the Yr award, which was voted on by gamers and first delivered in 1971. McDavid and Nashville Predators defenseman roman jose They have been runners-up at Ted Lindsay. Matthews is the second American-born participant to win the award, together with the Chicago Blackhawks Patrick King in 2015-16.

He stated, “To be honored by gamers you must face each evening, it means loads to me.”

The closest vote tonight was the Norris Cup, which the PHWA gave to the perfect defensive man within the NHL. Colorado Avalanche Protection Cal Makar Norris gained his first with 1,631 factors within the vote, with 92 votes in first place. Josie got here in second (1606) with extra votes than Makar (98). The distribution of factors on the poll, which ranks the primary 5 choices, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar obtained 195 poll papers, whereas Josie obtained 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning Defensive Victor Hedman The third was for Norris.

We now have some vital issues to do [Wednesday]”Rapidly draw consideration to the Stanley Cup Ultimate,” McCar stated on the present. However for boys, that goes to them.”

Shesterkin gained the Vezina Cup as the perfect goalkeeper within the league, which was voted by the NHL basic managers. The opposite contestants have been in second place Jacob Markstrom From Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros From the Nashville Predators.

“It’s a nice honor for me to be right here,” Shesterkin stated on the ceremony. “It is good to be taking part in for the New York Rangers, it is an unbelievable feeling.”

Shesterkin led the Nationwide Hockey League with 2.07 goals-to-average and 0.935 financial savings in 53 video games, bringing Rangers to 110 factors within the common season, the third-highest whole in franchise historical past. He was a Vezina candidate for the primary time and joined him Henrik Lundqvist And the John Vanbisbrook Just like the Rangers who’ve gained the Vezina because the present standards for the award have been outlined in 1981-1982.

Some speculated that it could possibly be a unanimous selection, however Fredrik Andersen of Carolina goalkeeper Tampa Bay Andrei Vasilevsky and New York Islanders Ilya Sorokin He additionally obtained first place votes.

Detroit Purple Wings Defenders Moritz Cider He gained the Calder Memorial Cup for Rookie of the Yr, as voted by PHWA. He performed 82 video games for the Purple Wings and averaged 23:02 ice time per sport, the best among the many rookies. He is led all rising defenders in factors (50), the third-highest first-year blueliner common previously 30 years. He led all of the juniors in assists (43) and strengths (21).

“It is a actually nice honor,” he stated, “I wasn’t actually ready to provide a speech, so I am going with the tide right here.” “It is a terrific group with Detroit, it is so enjoyable to be Purple Wing.”

Cedar obtained 170 votes from the primary place holders. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim Geese ahead who has made a number of standout objectives this season, was second with 15 votes in first place. Toronto Maple Leafs Rookie Michael Bantingwho was notable for being 26 years previous, took third place within the voting.

Julian Presboa of Tampa Bay Lightning, Chris Drury From New York Rangers and Joe Sakic The Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the Jim Gregory Common Supervisor Award for the yr 2021-22. The winner of the NHL Draft can be introduced subsequent month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards have been held at Armature Works in Tampa on relaxation day between video games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Ultimate. The league beforehand introduced a number of awards in the course of the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Management Award: Anzi CopetarLos Angeles Kings. Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames; Invoice Masterton Memorial Cup: Carry worth, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O’Ree Neighborhood Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore, Md. Frank J. Selke Trophy for Greatest Defensive Striker: Patrice Bergeron, Bruins Boston; Girl Bing Memorial Cup for Most Well mannered Gamers: Kyle ConnorWinnipeg Jets. King Clancy’s Memorial Cup for Neighborhood Service: BK SubanNew Jersey Devils.